CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI- The Chippewa Steel took the ice Friday night to start off their weekend series with the Austin Bruins.

The Chippewa Steel controlled all of the momentum of the first period. Connor McGrath made a sprawling score at 1:09 to put the Steel ahead 1-0. Despite two powerplay chances for Austin, goalie Trent Burnham held his own between the pipes and keeping the Bruins at bay. Steel forward Jacob Dirks was able to take advantage of a 4-on-4 situation and slid one past the Bruins goalie at 18:49. Answering shortly after was Luke Farthing, his for the eighth goal of the season, to end the period with the Steel leading 3-0.

The second period continued to be a thrilling one for both teams going back and forth between penalties and goals. Braden Lindstrom found a spot between the pipes for the Steel at 4:13. Shortly after, Connor McGrath was able to tally his second score of the night on a powerplay chance. The Bruins were able to get two shots past Burnham; however, the Steel ended the period still ahead 5-2.

The Bruins, however, weren’t done yet. Three Steel penalties led to two Bruins goals in the third period to tighten Chippewa’s lead to one goal. Despite last minute efforts from the Bruins they were unable to add another goal and the Steel skated off with a win on their home ice with a final score of 5-4.

The Chippewa Steel will return to the ice Saturday night for another face off with the Bruins. The puck will drop at 7:10 p.m. in Chippewa and can also be viewed on HockeyTV. Saturday night’s promotion is Guaranteed Win Night for fans. If the Steel fall to the Bruins all fans will receive a ticket voucher to a selected upcoming home game. For tickets call 715-861-2131 or visit


The Chippewa Steel are members of the NAHL which is the oldest and largest junior hockey league of its kind in the United States and one of only two USA Hockey-certified leagues that operate under the non pay-to-play model.  The NAHL is also one of the best at advancing players to NCAA and professional hockey. Notable Alumni of the NAHL include Ryan Suter (MIN), Patrick Kane (CHI) and Phil Kessel (ARI) All league games are viewable via HockeyTV. For more information, visit