The Details

Who: Chippewa Steel vs. Fairbanks Ice Dogs

Puck Drop: Saturday, December 20th, 7:10pm CST

Where: Chippewa Area Ice Arena – Chippewa Falls, WI

Watch on HockeyTV and follow us on Twitter for game updates

CHIPPEWA FALLS, WI- The Chippewa Steel will take the ice one last time before Christmas as they face the Fairbanks Ice Dogs on Friday night. This will be the third time these teams will meet this season, previously splitting the series they played in Fairbanks, AK in mid-November.

This Chippewa Steel team looked hot last weekend against the Minnesota Magicians. Despite falling short on Friday night, the Steel played dominant hockey on Saturday – outscoring the Magicians 6-2. Some key players to keep an eye on Friday night will be Braiden Dorfman and Ryan Kerchoff. Dorfman, a forward in his second season with the Steel, racked up four total points in Saturday’s game. Kerchoff also added a goal towards Saturday night’s victory; that goal being his fourth in his past three games for the Steel.

The Fairbanks Ice Dogs (21-9) are currently ranked 2ndin the Midwest division, only one point behind the Kenai River Brown Bears. The Ice Dogs come off taking two out of three games from the Janesville Jets last weekend. Forward Jack Johnston, a St. Paul native, currently leads the Ice Dogs in goals scored adding 14 on the year. Goalie Mattias Sholl is coming off a shut-out win against the Jets last Saturday, bringing his save percentage to 0.924%.

This Friday’s game promotion is $2 Beer Night presented by Leinenkugel’s. All fans ages 21 and over are invited to enjoy $2 Leinenkugel Light beers until 10 minutes remain in the third period. For tickets call 715-861-2131 or visit


The Chippewa Steel are members of the NAHL which is the oldest and largest junior hockey league of its kind in the United States and one of only two USA Hockey-certified leagues that operate under the non pay-to-play model.  The NAHL is also one of the best at advancing players to NCAA and professional hockey. Notable Alumni of the NAHL include Ryan Suter (MIN), Patrick Kane (CHI) and Phil Kessel (ARI) All league games are viewable via HockeyTV. For more information, visit