Steel Extend Win Streak to Six Games

Box Score

(Chippewa Falls, WI)- The Chippewa Steel extended their season-high six-game win streak with a 7-2 victory on Saturday versus the Springfield Jr. Blues.

Springfield was able to light the lamp first on Saturday night with a goal scored by Carson Jones at the 6:42 mark. The Steel responded quickly with a Connor Szmul goal assisted by Spencer Oyler. After a penalty-free first period of action, the scored remained a 1-1 tie heading into the first intermission.

Chippewa took control of a tough Springfield team in the second period with three goals. Ryan Kerchoff recorded his second goal on the season assisted by  Killian Kiecker- Olson and Grisha Gotovets. The Steel scored twice on the same power play later in the second period. Branden Lindstrom found the back of the net for his sixth goal on the year, assisted by Spencer Oyler and Dawson Schwengler. A minute and 40 seconds later Spencer Oyler scored assisted by Ryan Kerchoff giving Chippewa a 4-1 score at the end of the second period.

Chippewa scored three more goals in the final period. Jaden Grant, Killian Kiecker- Olson and Kent Lee all fooled the goalie and rout over Springfield was complete for a 7-2 win on Saturday evening.

In net for Chippewa was Grant Boldt, who stopped 27 of 29 shots.

The Steel will return to Chippewa Area Ice Arena on Friday, November 1st at 7:10.  Join the Steel for a Hat Giveaway presented by Toycen Ford and the first $2 Beer Night of the season presented by Miller Lite. Individual Adult Tickets are just $10, Ages 5-18 $6 and under 4 is free. Tickets are available online at, over the phone at 715.861.2131 or at Chippewa Area Ice Arena Monday-Friday from 9-5.


The Chippewa Steel are members of the NAHL which is the oldest and largest junior hockey league of its kind in the United States and one of only two USA Hockey-certified leagues that operate under the non-pay-to-play model.  The NAHL is also one of the best at advancing players to NCAA and professional hockey. Notable Alumni of the NAHL include Ryan Suter (MIN), Patrick Kane (CHI) and Phil Kessel (ARI) All league games are viewable via HockeyTV. For more information, visit