Third Period Comeback Falls Short With 5-4 Loss

Box Score 

Fairbanks, AK- The Chippewa Steel entered Friday night’s contest against the Fairbanks Ice Dogs with a franchise best 4-game win streak in their inaugural season.

After a 3-1 win Thursday night the Ice Dogs came out hot finding the back of the net twice to take an early 2-0 advantage. Chippewa countered with a goal from Killian Kiecker- Olson assisted by Grant Reichenbacher and Isaac Moberg.

Kiecker-Olson tied the game at 2 in the second period, assisted by Grisha Gotovets and Spencer Oyler.  Fairbanks quickly responded just thirty seconds later as Laker Aldridge gave the Ice Dogs a 3-2 lead. Aldridge lit the lamp again a few minutes later taking his goal total on the season to three.

Trailing 4-2 heading into the third period the Steel were able to cut the deficit to 4-3 after power play goal by Grant Reichenbacher at 11:21 assisted by Spencer Oyler and Hutson Collins. Grant Reichenbacher then  tied the game at 4 with a goal at 14:39 assisted by Brendan Ogle giving the fans in Fairbanks some anxious moments.  John Stampohar of Fairbanks was able to sneak the game winning goal pasted Igor Samokhvalov to end Chippewa’s win streak with a 5-4 win.

Igor Samokhvalov saved 42 of 47 shots on the night.

Steel will wrap up their 3-game series with Ice Dogs tomorrow night at 10:30 CST from Big Dipper Ice Arena.

The Steel will be back at home, Saturday, January 26th for 92.9 the X Night. Adult tickets will be 2 for 1 with a non-perishable food item for Feed My People Food Bank. Puck drops at 7:10 p.m. For more information and all things Steel visit


The Chippewa Steel are members of the NAHL which is the oldest and largest junior hockey league of its kind in the United States and one of only two USA Hockey-certified leagues that operate under the non pay-to-play model.  The NAHL is also one of the best at advancing players to NCAA and professional hockey. Notable Alumni of the NAHL include Ryan Suter (MIN), Patrick Kane (CHI) and Phil Kessel (PIT) All league games are viewable via HockeyTV. For more information, visit